The Wi-Fi icon and Personal hotspot icon are both displayed after I enable Personal hotspot
| The Wi-Fi icon and Personal hotspot icon are both displayed after I enable Personal hotspot |
Problem:
- After the user turns on the Personal hotspot switch, the Wi-Fi icon and Personal hotspot icon are displayed at the same time.
- After the user turns on the Personal hotspot, Wi-Fi is still enabled.
- After the user turns on the Personal hotspot, no mobile data is shared.
Cause:
Wi-Fi bridge and Personal hotspot have been integrated and only Personal hotspot is displayed on the screen.
- If your phone is connected to a Wi-Fi network, turning on the Personal hotspot switch will enable the Wi-Fi bridge feature to share your Wi-Fi connection.
If your phone is connected to a Wi-Fi network encrypted with certificates, a message as shown in the following figure will be displayed after you turn on the Personal hotspot switch. If you choose to share your mobile data instead, the Personal hotspot feature will be enabled, which will disable Wi-Fi and share your mobile data.
- If your phone is not connected to a Wi-Fi network, turning on the Personal hotspot switch will enable this feature to share your mobile data, and Wi-Fi will be disabled.
Solution:
- To share mobile data, disable Wi-Fi and then turn on the Personal hotspot switch.
- To share a Wi-Fi connection, connect to a Wi-Fi network (not encrypted with certificates) and then turn on the Personal hotspot switch. The Wi-Fi icon and the Personal hotspot icon will then both be displayed in the status bar.